City Departments

The City of Athens delivers a full spectrum of municipal services to its residents, businesses and visitors.  To learn more about these services, please visit the “Residents” menu.  

The City is comprised of nine (9) operational departments.

City Manager’s Office 

  • Services:  Leadership and Management of all City operations
  • Department Leadership:  Elizabeth Borstad, City Manager 
  • Contact Phone: (903) 675-5131
  • Contact Email:

City Secretary’s Office 

Police Department

Fire Department

  • Services:  Fire Suppression and Rescue, Fire Prevention, and Emergency Management
  • Department Leadership: Fire Chief, Gregory Werner
  • Contact Phone:  (903) 677-6636
  • Contact Email:

  • Fire Marshal Lance West:   (903) 681-4087

Public Works

  • Services:  Streets and Drainage, Parks, Solid Waste & Recycling, and Airport Management
  • Department Leadership:  Tim Perry, Director of Public Works
  • Contact Phone:  (903) 675-8036
  • Contact Email:

Development Services


  • Services:  Budget and Finance, Audits, Municipal Court, Utility Billing
  • Department Leadership:  Mandie Quigg, Director of Finance
  • Contact Phone:  (903) 675-5131
  • Contact Email:

Human Resources

  • Services:  Recruitment, Civil Service, Risk Management, and Employee Relations
  • Department Leadership:  Sissy Geddie, Human Resources Manager
  • Contact Phone:  (903) 675-5131
  • Contact Email: