Financial Transparency

The City of Athens is committed to meeting the high standard of financial transparency by providing citizens with documents that show how the tax dollars and other revenues are budgeted and spent.

Fiscal Year 2022 Budget

"This budget will raise more total property taxes than last year's budget by $213,595, or 3.97%, and of that amount $37,335 is tax revenue to be raised from new property added to the tax roll this year."

Budget Calendar

Public Hearing on the Budget

Public Hearing on the Tax Rate

Fiscal Year 2022 Proposed Budget

Updated Utility Capital Projects

2021 Tax Rate Calculation Worksheet

 

Required Information Per Section 26.18 of Texas Tax Code
 Budgeted M&O
Revenue 
Budgeted I&S
Revenue
Adopted M&O
Tax Rate
Adopted I&S
Tax Rate
Total
Tax Rate
Proposed FY 2022$4,586,790 $913,610       0.5398880.105333$0.645221/$100 
Current FY 2021$4,476,573$878,7810.5550710.105150$0.660221/$100
FY 2020$4,309,480$848,0270.5693120.110909$0.680221/$100
FY 2019$3,979,675$855,7490.5639540.121267$0.685221/$100
FY 2018$4,031,196$744,7440.5805010.104720$0.685221/$100

Taxing Entity:  City of Athens

Address: 508 E. Tyler Street Athens, TX 75751

Phone: 903-675-5131

Email Address: council@athenstx.gov

Governing Body: City Council

Mayor: Toni Clay, tclay@athenstx.gov

Mayor Pro Tem: Aaron Smith, asmith@athenstx.gov

Councilmember: SyTanna Freeman, sfreeman@athenstx.gov

Councilmember: Robert Gross, rgross@athenstx.gov

Councilmember: Mark Carroll, mcarroll@athenstx.gov 

Annual Budget

Annual Financial Audits

Monthly Financial Reports

Quarterly Investment Reports

This Investment and Collateralization Policy is authorized by the City Council in accordance with Texas Government Code, Chapter 2256, also cited as the Public Funds Investment Act, to satisfy the statutory requirements to define, adopt, and review a written investment policy regarding the investment of its funds and funds under its control. It is also written to satisfy the statutory requirements of the Public Funds Collateral Act, Chapter 2257 of the Texas Government Code. This policy has been reviewed and has received Certification of Investment Policy as issued by the Government Treasurers' Organization of Texas.

City of Athens Investment Policy

Certificate of Investment Policy


More Information

For more information, contact: 

Mandie Quigg
Director of Finance

508 E. Tyler Street
Athens, TX  75751

903-675-5131
mquigg@athenstx.gov